GARDENING | COOKBOOKS | LOCAL FOOD SYSTEM BOOKS & DISCUSSION COURSES
WEBSITES | LOCAL ORGANIZATIONS & INSTITUTIONS | FOUNDATIONS
BUSINESSES SUPPORTING OUR LOCAL FOOD SYSTEM | VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

GARDENING
Raised-Bed Vegetable Gardening Made Simple: The Three-Module Home Vegetable Garden. Raymond Nones, 2010.
Straw Bale Gardens: The Breakthrough Method for Growing Vegetables Anywhere, Earlier and With No Weeding. Joel Karsten, 2013.
Lasagna Gardening: A New Layering System for Bountiful Gardens: No Digging, No Tilling, No Weeding, No Kidding! Patricia Lanza, 1998.
All New Square Foot Gardening: Grow More in Less Space! Mel Bartholomew, 2006.
Container Gardening Essentials: The Essential Guide for Growing Plants in Small Places. Sandi Lane, 2014.
Composting Book: How to Make and Use Organic Compost to Transform Your Garden. Clare Foster, 2014.
Vermicomposting Book: Worms Eat My Garbage 2nd edition. Mary Applehof­, 2003.
Permaculture Book: Gaia’s Garden. 2nd Edition. Toby Hemenway, 2009.
Garden Corner.com 

COOKBOOKS (back)
From Asparagus to Zucchini – a Guide to Cooking Farm-Fresh Seasonal Produce. Madison Area Community Supported Agriculture Coalition (MADSAC).
Tastes from Valley to Bluff – The Featherstone Farm Cookbook. Mi Ae Lipe, 2008.

LOCAL FOOD SYSTEM BOOKS & DISCUSSION COURSES (back)
Fair Food: Growing a Healthy, Sustainable Food System for All. Orin B. Hesterman, 2011.
The Good Food Revolution: Growing Healthy Food, People, and Communities. Will Allen, 2013.
The Locavore Way: Discover and Enjoy the Pleasures of Locally Grown Food. Amy Cotler, 2009.
Northwest Earth Institute Discussion Courses (contact Coulee Partners for Sustainability – cpslax.org).

WEBSITES (back)
Cornucopia Institute: www.cornucopia.org
Farm Fresh Atlas–Western Wisconsin: wifarmfresh.org
La Crosse backyard chickens: www.cityoflacrosse.org/index.aspx?NID=2796
La Crosse County–University of Wisconsin: lacrosse.uwex.edu/horticulture
Local Harvest: www.localharvest.org
Seed Savers Exchange: www.seedsavers.org
Slow Food USA: www.slowfoodusa.org
Wisconsin Local Food Network: wilocalfood.wordpress.com

LOCAL ORGANIZATIONS & INSTITUTIONS (back)
AMOS (Advocating-Mobilizing-Organizing in Solidarity): www.amosadvocates.org
Boys & Girls Club of Greater La Crosse: www.bgcgl.org
Bluff Country Master Gardeners: www.bluffcountrymastergardeners.org
Clearwater Farm: clearwaterfarm.org
Community Hunger Solutions–Vernon Economic Development Association (VEDA): www.veda-wi.org
Coulee Food System Coalition: couleefoodsystem.org
Coulee Partners for Sustainability: www.cpslax.org
Coulee Region RSVP: www.rsvplax.org
Couleecap: www.couleecap.org
Downtown Mainstreet, Inc.: www.lacrossedowntown.com
FairShare CSA Coalition: www.csacoalition.org
Grow Your Brain: growyourbrainlax.org
Hillview Urban Agriculture Center: www.hillviewuac.org
Hmoob Cultural and Community Agency: www.hmoobagency.org
Hunger Task Force/Kane Street Community Garden: lacrossehtf.org/the-kane-street-community-garden
La Crescent Community Garden – La Crescent Area Healthy Community Partnership: lacrescenthcp.org
La Crosse County Health Dept. – Get Active: www.getactivelacrosse.org
La Crosse Area YMCA: Pioneering Healthier Communities: www.laxymca.org/healthier-communities/pioneering-healthier-communities
La Crosse Public Library Seed Library: www.lacrosselibrary.org/seed-library
La Crosse Medical Health Science Consortium: www.lacrosseconsortium.org
La Crosse Healthy Living Collaboration (HLC): getactivelacrosse.org/healthy-living-collaboration
Mayo Clinic Health System—Franciscan Healthcare: mayoclinichealthsystem.org/locations/la-crosse
Riverfront, Inc.: www.riverfrontinc.org
Sierra Club – Coulee Region Group: wisconsin.sierraclub.org/coulee
Sustainability Institute, Western Technical College: www.westerntc.edu/sustainabilityinstitute
WAFER: waferlacrosse.org
Washburn Neighborhood Association: washburnneighborhood.org
UW-La Crosse: www.uwlax.edu
Viterbo University: www.viterbo.edu
Western Technical College: www.westerntc.edu
WisCorps: wiscorps.org

FOUNDATIONS (back)
Otto Bremer Foundation: www.ottobremer.org
Robert & Eleanor Franke Charitable Foundation: frankefound.org
Great Rivers United Way: www.greatriversunitedway.org
La Crosse Community Foundation: www.laxcommfoundation.com
Paul E. Stry Foundation: c/o Robert Swartz (608-452-3346)

BUSINESSES SUPPORTING OUR LOCAL FOOD SYSTEM (back)
Ace of La Crosse: www.aceoflacrosse.com
CPC Printing & Promotions: cpcprintpromo.com
Community Credit Union: www.communitycu.com
Critter Comfort Pet Care: crittercomfortpetcare.com
Dairyland Power: www.dairynet.com
Express Printing: www.expressprintinglax.com
Festival Foods: www.festfoods.com
Fifth Season Cooperative: fifthseason.coop
Food Enterprise Center – Vernon Economic Development Association (VEDA): www.veda-wi.org
Forest Agriculture Enterprises: trees@forestag.com
Full Circle Supply: www.fullcirclesupplylax.com
HSR Associates: www.hsrassociates.com
Kotnour Jones Dental: www.kotnourjonesdental.com
La Crosse Radio Group: www.lacrosseradiogroup.net
Lee Harwell Photography: leeharwellphotography.com
Marshland Productions: marshlandproductions.com
Meridian Corporation: www.meridian-corp.com
Mueller Media: muellermediacorps.com
Nelson Flag & Display: www.nelsonflag.com
Organic Valley: www.organicvalley.coop
Pearl Street Books: www.facebook.com/PSBooks
People’s Food Co-op: pfc.coop
Prizm: prizmco.com
Savory Creations: www.savorycreations.org
Schilling Supply Company: www.schillingsupply.com
Z’s Lawn & Landscaping: zslawnandlandscaping.com

GET INVOLVED—VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES (back)
AMOS (Advocating-Mobilizing-Organizing in Solidarity): www.amosadvocates.org
Clearwater Farm: clearwaterfarm.org
Coulee Region RSVP: www.rsvplax.org
Grow Your Brain: growyourbrainlax.org
Hillview Urban Agriculture Center: www.hillviewuac.org
Hunger Task Force/Kane Street Community Garden: lacrossehtf.org/the-kane-street-community-garden
Salvation Army: www.salvationarmylacrosse.com
WAFER: waferlacrosse.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.